

American Association of University Women North Carolina (AAUW NC) Annual State Meeting - March 16, 2024 Minutes

Meeting Date: March 16, 2024

Meeting Time: 9:30 am Meeting Location: ZOOM

Subject	Discussion/Progress/Decisions
Welcome/Introduction Pat Ashe, President	Pat Ashe called the meeting to order at 9:30 am with introductions and welcome. At the beginning of the meeting, 45 attendees were present.
Door Prize Drawing Mary Ann Bents, Kathy Pearre	Sarah Bailey of Charlotte won the door prize of \$25.00
Treasurer's Report Treasurer not present. Beverly Larson read the Treasurer's Report.	AAUW NC ended the year on June 30 2023 with assets of \$38,562.41
Announcement of the Previous Year's Annual Meeting Minutes Pat Ashe, President	Minutes from last year's March 2023 Annual Business meeting were recorded by Christie Whitworth. The reading committee members were Susan Ikerd and Jane Terwillegar, who reviewed and approved the minutes. The minutes are available here https://www.aauwnc.org/2023-annual-meeting-minutes/ The reading committee, appointed by Pat Ashe, who will review and approve the minutes from this meeting, are Laura Tew, Greensboro and AAUW NC Board and Susan Ikerd, Asheville

Establishment of Quorum Mary Ann Bents and Kathy Pearre, Credentials Committee	Branches Represented: 11 out of 14 branches had members present. A quorum was met.
Nominations & Elections Nominations Committee Beverly Larson, Pat Ashe	Pat introduced Beverly Larson, AAUW NC VP and Chair of the Nominations Committee (Jane Terwillegar and Tiffany Jacobs) who presented the slate of candidates. The VP candidate is Lena Murrill-Chapman. For Treasurer, the candidate is Millie Hoffler-Foushee. A verbal vote was taken. The verbal vote for each candidate was unanimous.
Installation Ceremony Jane Terwillegar	Lena Murill-Chapman was installed by Jane Terwillegar as Vice President. Mille Hoffler-Foushee was installed as Treasurer. Each has a two-year term of 2024-2026
Legacy Circle Beverly Larson	Beverly Larson provided an overview of the Legacy Circle and then recognized those North Carolina members: Eileen Hanson Kelly, Mildred T. Hoffler-Foushee, Barbara Ann Hughes, Melissa Johnsen, Beverly A. Larson, Elizabeth M. Norris, and Laura Tew.
Young People's Literature Award announcement Pat Ashe	Pat introduced Micki Bare, winner of the 2023 Young People's Literature Award for her book <i>Blind Fairy</i> . Micki responded with remarks about her writing and appreciation for the award.
President's Report on Branch Activities Pat Ashe, Kathy Pearre	Pat thanked WCU, ODC, Hendersonville, Salisbury, and Cape Fear branches for sharing their programmed events (via Zoom) with the state. Pat discussed different branch events and members wrote about their branches' events in the chat, which were read by Kathy Pearre.
Adjournment Pat Ashe	The business meeting was adjourned at 10:20 am.
Break-Out Sessions	"Being an Effective Advocate"—Ron Katz "Health for Today's Woman"—Brittany Hudgins-Graham "Membership Playbook"—Leah Monger and Barb Duran
Door Prize Drawing, Mary Ann Bents, Kathy Pearre	Cindy Parks of ODC won the second door prize of \$25.00.

AAUW Update, Edwina Martin, Speaker	Edwina Martin, AAUW Board member, gave an update on AAUW priorities, including the Bylaws change to be voted on starting April 3rd on removing a degree requirement for membership.
Keynote Speaker, Justice Anita Earls	Pat introduced NC Supreme Court Senior Associate Justice Anita Earls, who spoke on recent Supreme Court decisions that impact our lives, including education, voting rights, health care, and equal protection of the laws. She also suggested several ways we could become involved in addressing these. issues.
Final Door Prize Drawing, <i>Mary Ann</i> Bents, Kathy Pearre	Millie Hoffler-Foushee won the door prize of \$25.00 and the grand prize of \$250.00 for the Charlotte branch.
Notetaker	The minutes were prepared and submitted by Katie Pincura.